Laughing Buddhas @ The Maha Vihara Duta Maitreya Buddhist Temple, Batam, Indonesia

We are shaped by our thoughts; we become what we think. When the mind is pure, joy follows like a shadow that never leaves

-Lord Buddha-

In 2010 whilst visiting Batam, Indonesia together with my husband who was on a work trip, I visited the Maha Vihara Duta Maitreya Buddhist Temple located at Batam Center. Its located on a slight hill and the view from the slightly elevated compound was both beautiful and calming. What was more beautiful was the various laughing Buddha statues located all around the compound.  Although I only have a digital camera at that point of time I still manage to capture few decent shots of the laughing Buddha. I also had the chance to light a joss stick and say a prayer at the temple. I asked Buddha to bless us with a baby and in 2012 my wish was granted. Looks like its time to make a trip back to Batam with my son now to offer thanks.

Thank you Lord B!

Leave a Reply

